The Hauora Māori Advisory Committee advises the Minister of Health on matters relating to the Te Aka Whai Ora - Māori Health Authority Board and to the Public Health Advisory Committee.

The role of the committee is also to ensure that the voices of Māori are heard at all levels of decision-making in the new health system, and by doing so, supporting the delivery of equitable health outcomes for Māori.

In June 2022, the Health Minister Andrew Little announced the appointment of members to the Interim Hauora Māori Advisory Committee. These appointments were critical to the establishment of the Te Aka Whai Ora - Māori Health Authority.

The interim Committee members are:

  • Parekawhia McLean (Chair)
  • Dr Matire Harwood 
  • Tā Mark Solomon
  • Rahui Papa 
  • Amohaere Houkamau 
  • Lisa Tumahai 
  • Margareth Broodkoorn 
  • Dr Jim Mather

Six of the members were previously appointed to the 2021 Steering Group(external link) established under the leadership of Tā Mason Durie to provide advice on governance arrangements and initial appointments to the interim Māori Health Authority. Within the next two years, the Committee will be nominated directly by Māori through Iwi Māori Partnership Boards and Hauora Māori organisations.

Last modified: